Law of Root

English

C.1 OVERVIEW

Chameleander seeks nothing more than to gratify their own EGO. This will be done by exerting their special brand of control on the woodlands: by CAJOLING factions into placing their buildings or tokens in clearings they choose; by using their MARK FOR DEATH to remove individual warriors from key clearings; and by performing a BOAST TO THE BIRDS, simply spending a number of bird cards; each of these actions letting Chameleander place EGO to score points. As Chameleander’s ego increases, their danger to the woodland will become apparent. Chameleander is a CHARMING MASTERMIND though, meaning they can’t be removed from the board, and only their ego are removed in battle. To prevent factions from gaining too many points from removing ego, Chameleander has BLENDING IN to disrupt their battle plans. Chameleander will SLOUGH off any dangers the woodland presents, continuing to be a CONNECTED SOCIALITE to charm the woodland into subservience. Whose woods are these? I think they know.

C.2 FACTION RULES AND ABILITIES

C.2.1
Crafting.
Chameleander crafts using crafting pieces belonging to other factions. These crafting pieces must be in Chameleander’s clearing during the crafting step. Each piece may only be activated once on your turn and previous activation during any player’s turn doesn’t prevent Chameleander from using the crafting pieces, nor does Chameleander’s use of them limit a faction’s use of their own crafting pieces. Chameleander is not limited by any crafting restrictions or penalties associated with the factions who own the crafting pieces and has no access to crafting bonuses associated with the factions that have ownership of the crafting pieces. For example, Chameleander can craft using a roost and still gain the full amount of points listed on an item card. (Remember, only Lizard Cult gardens that match the current outcast are crafting pieces, also that Riverfolk trade posts are not crafting pieces).
C.2.2
Charming Mastermind.
Chameleander is a warrior, meaning they count once toward rule and anything that applies to warriors applies to Chameleander (e.g. if Chameleander walks into a sympathetic clearing, they must give a card to the Alliance, if possible). Chameleander deals up to 2 rolled hits in battle and is never defenseless. Chameleander may not be removed from the board by any effect, including those that ignore removal restrictions. Chameleander may not be swapped. Chameleander may not be moved into a forest or onto a path, but Chameleander CAN move to another clearing using a path (as all warriors can) and may move THROUGH a forest if a special ability or crafted improvement allows. Chameleander may not be moved outside your turn by any effect, including those that ignore movement restrictions. For each hit you take in your clearing in battle, remove an ego token.
C.2.3
Connected Socialite.
If you have 1 or more cards in hand, you ignore rule while moving.
C.2.4
Blending In.
In battle as attacker or defender with the Chameleander warrior, you ignore all rolled hits you would take. Before the roll in battle, an enemy battling the Chameleander may give you a card matching the clearing of battle to make Chameleander take the rolled hits instead of ignoring them. Extra hits are never negated by “Blending In.” As always, the Chameleander warrior may still deal up to 2 rolled hits as attacker or defender while “Blending In” is in effect (Flavorwise, it is like Chameleander being sneaky, either attacking from the shadows or hiding in the shadows. They know how to leverage their position to keep themselves safe).
C.2.5
Ego.
Ego is always placed from the Ego track, and it is placed in Chameleander’s clearing, though it cannot be placed where there are restrictions preventing such (e.g. The Keep or a snare). Ego always moves with Chameleander, ignoring all effects that might prevent Ego from being moved while Chameleander moves. Ego on the map always goes wherever Chameleander goes however Chameleander goes. Once per turn, if an effect would try to target Chameleander for removal or replacement, remove an ego instead and resolve the effect (e.g. if Lizards try to convert Chameleander, an ego token is removed and they place a Lizard warrior in your clearing). If additional effects try to target Chameleander for replacement or removal, they fail. Once per turn, if an effect would give Chameleander 1 or more warriors in any clearing from your supply by allowing you to place warriors from your supply or allowing you to replace another game piece with a warrior from your supply, instead place an ego token in your clearing, even though you have no warriors in your supply, and score the victory points listed on the space uncovered on your faction board (e.g. if you have crafted Propaganda Bureau, you may replace a warrior, removing it from the clearing and then placing an ego token in your clearing even if the warrior you target for replacement is not in your same clearing). Any additional effects after the first that allow you to place warriors from your supply fail to let you place ego this way. (If some new game effect adds a warrior or more to your supply, you may either choose to place a warrior or place an ego, but this special ego placement may only happen once per turn). If an effect only triggers when a warrior is removed, it cannot be enacted by attacking the Chameleander warrior (Vagabond, for example, cannot go hostile with Chameleander by attacking them) but if the effect is meant to also work against the vagabond, then it can be applied to Chameleander too (e.g. if an effect is activated by removing a warrior or damaging a vagabond item, then removing an ego token would be the equivalent of such interactions).
C.2.6
The Id.
Ego moved to The Id cannot be removed from The Id nor placed on the map by any effect. Ego with draw icons (what I like to call superego) that are placed on The Id contribute to your evening draw just like they were still on your Ego track.
C.2.7
Purchasing from Riverfolk.
To purchase from Riverfolk, discard cards from hand–for each card you discard to do so, Riverfolk places one Riverfolk warrior in the payments box. Analogous methods or purchasing services or otherwise using warriors from the supply as payment may be dealt with in a similar manner. When buying mercenaries, you may battle in any clearings with Riverfolk warriors. If your Chameleander warrior is there, you must split hits evenly, removing an ego for each odd hit taken. If Chameleander is there and you cannot fulfill this, the Riverfolk take whatever hits you can’t. If you bought Mercenaries and a Vagabond removes a Riverfolk warrior in defense, you go hostile with the Vagabond.
C.2.8
Other Faction Interactions.
Moles may always place a tunnel when they are cajoled since in their law entry it says that they may remove one when prompted to place a tunnel. If there are multiple facedown Corvid plots in a clearing, it still only does one extra hit when attacked since Embedded Agents as a battle effect is only activated once during battle, nothing allowing it to be activated multiple times (source: Guerric). If the wording of an ability emphasizes the checking of a clearing for the building or token, the ability stays the same even with multiple tokens or buildings of the same type (e.g. walking into a sympathetic clearing is the same with one or multiple sympathy tokens, outrage only being triggered once) but if it emphasizes the number of buildings or tokens, the effect is multiplied (e.g. if multiple sympathy tokens are removed in a battle, outrage is triggered multiple times, same as if a Favor card were crafted). Also, Vagabond cannot go hostile with you since your warrior cannot be removed, except as described in (C.2.7 - Purchasing from Riverfolk.)

C.3 FACTION SETUP

C.3.1
Step 1: Gather Warriors.
Form a supply of 1 warrior.
C.3.2
Step 2: Place Warriors.
Place 1 warrior in a clearing with at least three paths connected to it.
C.3.3
Step 3: Place Tokens.
Place the three ego tokens with draw icons (superego) on the three rightmost spaces of the Ego track. Place the remaining ego tokens on the 5 leftmost remaining spaces of the Ego track.

C.4 BIRDSONG

Your Birdsong has 2 steps in the following order.
C.4.1
Slough.
You may discard any 4 cards from your hand to move the leftmost ego token on the Ego track to the Id. You do not score for this movement.
C.4.2
Skip.
You may take up to 2 move actions, ignoring rule and ignoring that which would prevent movement from a clearing (for example, you may move out of a snare during this movement). If some effect has taken you off the map (which really shouldn’t be possible, due to “Charming Mastermind”) you may use a move action from Skip to place Chameleander in any clearing, and then proceed to complete the Skip action.

C.5 DAYLIGHT

Your Daylight has 2 steps in the following order.
C.5.1
Craft.
You have no crafting pieces. You may activate crafting pieces in your clearing to craft cards.These crafting pieces may belong to any faction.
C.5.2
Perform Actions.
You may take up to three actions–plus one per ego you remove (you may remove ego with or without a draw icon to gain this extra action)–in any order and number.
I
Quell.
If you have at least one ego token in your clearing, you may initiate a battle (if you have mercenaries, you may initiate this battle even if the Chameleander warrior is not in the clearing with the Riverfolk). Then, at the end of the battle, remove an ego from your clearing.
II
Stroll.
Take a move action (normal rules regarding movement apply). You may force another player to move a warrior from your origin clearing to your destination clearing (ignoring rule). You decide the details of that forced movement, including abilities that are activated (e.g. you decide if a Keeper warrior carries a relic or not).
III
Beckon.
Choose another faction with a faction piece in your clearing or in an adjacent clearing. Force them to place a warrior in your clearing.
IV
Mark for Death.
Spend a card to remove a warrior in a matching clearing anywhere on the map. Then, place ego in your clearing and score the victory points listed on the space uncovered on your faction board. You may take this action only once per turn.
V
Cajole.
If you are in a clearing that another faction rules, spend any card, matching or not, to place ego in your clearing and score the victory points listed on the space uncovered on your faction board. The ruling faction may then place a building or token of theirs in your clearing. They choose which building or token. If it is on a track, they may only place the leftmost one from that track. Buildings may only be placed if there is an available building slot to place it in. All other costs and restrictions are ignored (Cats place a building without spending wood, for example). Buildings or tokens not matching the suit of the clearing may be placed (e.g. the Alliance may place a fox base in a rabbit clearing). Tokens or buildings may be placed ignoring placement limits. The buildings or tokens may be placed facedown or faceup. The ruling faction scores no points for the placement of their building or token, even if they normally would. (e.g. Cats score no points for placing a building). This action may enable a faction to place any building or token of theirs that is still in the game, even if there is no other way to place it outside of cajole (for example, if The Keep has been removed, cajole may allow cats to place it once again). The ruling faction may choose not to place anything. If they choose to place a building or token, Chameleander scores 1 point. You may take this action only once per turn.

C.6 EVENING

Your Evening has two steps in the following order.
C.6.1
Boast to the Birds.
If you took the Mark for Death action this turn, you must skip this step in its entirety. If you did not Mark for Death, you may spend a bird card to place an ego token in your clearing and score the victory points listed on the space uncovered on your faction board. Then, for each ego token on The Id, you may spend an additional bird card to place an additional ego token. Score victory points for each space you uncover on your faction board while placing these ego tokens.
C.6.2
Draw and Discard.
Draw one card, plus one card per ego on the ego track or on The Id that has a draw icon. Then, if you have more than five cards in your hand, discard cards of your choice until you have five.