Ermine Initiative FAQ
English
Does the Ermine Initiative have a homeland?
No.
In 5 player games, does the Ermine Initiative place any piece on the map during setup?
No. Their entire setup at 5 players consists of drawing 5 Directive cards, choosing 2 to keep, and shuffling the rest back into the Directives deck.
Does One Step Ahead trigger in the following situations?
In general, One Step Ahead triggers whenever Ermine warriors are removed from the map during enemy turns.
Warriors Wake's Frenzy triggers One Step Ahead.
Ermine warriors kidnapped by Black Paw Bandits do not trigger One Step Ahead, as the warrior remains on the map. However, ransomed Ermine warriors do trigger it.
Riverfolk Trade Disruption does not trigger One Step Ahead.
Warriors Wake's Frenzy triggers One Step Ahead.
Ermine warriors kidnapped by Black Paw Bandits do not trigger One Step Ahead, as the warrior remains on the map. However, ransomed Ermine warriors do trigger it.
Riverfolk Trade Disruption does not trigger One Step Ahead.
Do Ermines ever keep a card that they reveal?
No. All cards they reveal would either be returned to their hand during their Daylight or their Evening, and hence they get discarded per Obsolete intel.
Does Obsolete Intel interfere with the Public Relations crafted improvements effect?
No, since the card is neither revealed, nor 'returned' to the hand.
Can Ermines craft items/improvements using crafting pieces of multiple enemies in infiltrated clearings (e.g. sympathy and a Roost)?
No, each time Ermines craft it must be using crafting pieces of one enemy only (but they may, for example, craft two cards in one turn; first using sympathy in an infiltrated clearing, then using a Roost in the same or a different infiltrated clearing).
Can Ermines craft using the following enemy pieces in infiltrated clearings?
Vagabond pawn - yes, once per undamaged Hammer in said Vagabond's satchel.
Lizard Gardens - yes, but only using Gardens matching the current Outcast suit.
Riverfolk trade posts - no, trade posts are not crafting pieces.
Black Guard cells - yes (even though there are no revealed agents).
Black Paw Bandits traps - no, unless a trap has been placed in a clearing via Chameleander's Cajole.
Chameleander warrior - no.
Lizard Gardens - yes, but only using Gardens matching the current Outcast suit.
Riverfolk trade posts - no, trade posts are not crafting pieces.
Black Guard cells - yes (even though there are no revealed agents).
Black Paw Bandits traps - no, unless a trap has been placed in a clearing via Chameleander's Cajole.
Chameleander warrior - no.
What is meant by "lead suit" (Hierarchy of intel chart)?
The lead suit is the suit of the card revealed by the Ermine Initiative.
During Gather Intel, do enemies have to reveal a Bird card if Ermines lead with a Bird card?
Yes, if they h ave one (since birds are not wild during Gather Intel).
If an enemy has no card matching the Ermine's revealed card, what happens?
If none of their cards match, they must still reveal a card of their choosing.
Can you explain "Give your card to the revealer of superior intel (if inferior)"?
If the revealed card with the highest superiority of intel was revealed by an enemy player, they add the Ermine’s lead card into their hand. (If the Ermines’ lead card is superior, leave it in their play area.)
Who wins if multiple players reveal cards with equally superior intel?
If tied, treat intel of the tied player with fewest VP as superior. If still tied, Ermines choose whose intel is superior.
Can Ermines use Weapons Broker to swap a card to themselves?
Yes, as long as they have a revealed card in their own play area (from winning one of the tricks) to swap it with.
Can Ermines swap cards between players with pieces in different clearings?
Yes, as long as both players have pieces in clearings with an infiltration token.
Can enemies play revealed ambushes or use revealed cards for trigger abilities (e.g. Field Hospitals) during Ermine’s turn?
No, since revealed cards are not part of those players’ hands.
What does the “(+🎴 per previous)” mean in the card cost for some Operations?
It means that each successive time you perform that Operation this turn, you must return an extra matching card (e.g. 1 card to battle once, 2 matching cards for a second battle, 3 matching cards for a third battle).
If an enemy has fewer than two warriors in their supply, can the Ermines train them?
Yes, but Ermines only score a point if two warriors were placed.
Can Ermines do the Training action on the Vagabond or Chameleander?
The Vagabond cannot be trained, as it has no warriors to place.
Chameleander can be trained once per turn, as per the rules text in Ego: Once per turn, if an effect would let you place or replace 1 or more warriors anywhere on the map, place an ego in your clearing instead, scoring as normal. So if trained, Chameleander is forced to place a single ego in their clearing. Ermines still score the +1VP for the Training.
Chameleander can be trained once per turn, as per the rules text in Ego: Once per turn, if an effect would let you place or replace 1 or more warriors anywhere on the map, place an ego in your clearing instead, scoring as normal. So if trained, Chameleander is forced to place a single ego in their clearing. Ermines still score the +1VP for the Training.
Who removes the pieces during a False Flag Operation?
See rule 1.5.5. The enemy that was forced to initiate the battle removes the pieces, scoring any points for cardboard they remove and triggering any other effects.
When do Ermines score points for completed Directives?
As soon as they have met the conditions described in the Orders box of the card, Ermines score the listed points, then discard the Directive to draw another.
What happens if the Directives deck is empty?
Nothing. Discarded Directives are never reshuffled into the deck.
If I complete a Directive and then draw a new one whose criteria were satisfied earlier in my turn, can I score the points immediately?
No, the moment of completion must occur while the Directive is in your hand.
- Clarification: for Suppression (Remove 3 warriors of the leading enemy faction in a single turn), only the 3rd removal/hit must occur while the Directive is in your hand.
- Clarification 2: for Militarisation (Train 4 warriors of one non-leading enemy faction in one turn), only the 4th warrior must be trained while the Directive is in your hand.
- Clarification: for Suppression (Remove 3 warriors of the leading enemy faction in a single turn), only the 3rd removal/hit must occur while the Directive is in your hand.
- Clarification 2: for Militarisation (Train 4 warriors of one non-leading enemy faction in one turn), only the 4th warrior must be trained while the Directive is in your hand.
If a Directive refers to a leading enemy faction or a non-leading enemy faction but their VP are equal, which faction does it refer to?
In cases of tied VP, the Ermine player chooses which faction is leading or non-leading.
For the Interrogation Directive, do Bird cards count as wild or as their own suit?
Per rule 2.1.1, Birds may be treated as any suit. The only exception to this for the Ermine Initiative is that Birds are not wild during the Gather Intel step.
What is the purpose of the mini Directives grid above the Directives deck slot (TTS mod only)?
It is a reference showing every card in the Directives deck. Plan ahead by cloning the ✔️ & ❌ markers to keep track of which Directives have been completed or discarded.